In existence for more than 180 years, First Presbyterian Church has a rich history. We invite you to explore our background and learn more about the building blocks of our past.
First Presbyterian Church of Lexington, North Carolina was organized July 15, 1827, with two elected and ordained elders among nine members who had been meeting in a log house south of town. By 1840, increased membership led to the erection of a one room, rectangular brick building on the site of the church today. Enlargement and remodeling projects have surrounded the building. The only remaining part of the original structure is a portion of the north wall of the present sanctuary.
The sanctuary, first called a lecture room, has seen both enlargements and renovations which have incorporated extensive Biblical symbolism that inspires reverence. The donations of a George S. Hutchings Organ, Opus 499, and a Steinway Grand Piano have enhanced worship services.
In early years, the church began a Sabbath School, the first in Lexington. The building now serves as offices on West Third Avenue. A manse was built behind the church and later converted to classrooms. It has since been removed, and the site is now used for an enlarged educational building, Preschool classrooms, choir rehearsal suite, fellowship hall, and kitchen. There is a basement for youth group meetings and Scout activities. A tower and narthex have replaced an earlier gallery and choir loft originally located at the rear of the church.
As numerous additions were dedicated to the glory of God, the church was also growing spiritually: Sunday School programs increased, providing Christian education for all ages; the first youth meetings began as a Christian Endeavor Society often attended by the youth of other denominations; choirs for children and adults developed; local and foreign mission work began; women’s work was re-organized; and Bible study and prayer groups met in homes and at the church.
Spiritual outreach began when the church helped establish First Presbyterian Church in Winston-Salem in 1862. Locally, the congregation furnished ministers, teachers, and financial aid to three outposts. Two of them, Dacotah Mills Chapel and South Lexington Sunday School, united in 1936 to form Second Presbyterian Church. The third outpost grew into Meadowview Presbyterian Church in 1949, now Meadowview Presbyterian Church (PCA).
Outreach is evident today in that seven former members of First Presbyterian Church are now ministers. In addition to these, one is a Minister of Music, and three are Directors of Christian Education.